· By Sarah Chen · Updated October 27, 2026

Fathom Joins Superhuman: What Changes, What Doesn't

Superhuman, the company formerly known as Grammarly, bought Fathom in September. Nothing has changed for users yet. Here is what to watch, and what Fathom's current data policy actually says.

The short answer: Nothing has changed for Fathom users yet: the free plan, $16-a-month paid plans, and the same app and login continue. What to watch is the free plan’s future, Fathom’s default of training on de-identified meetings (opt out in My Settings), and how meeting data connects to Superhuman’s mail and docs.

On 14 September 2026, Superhuman announced it had acquired Fathom, the AI notetaker best known for its generous free plan. Superhuman is the company formerly known as Grammarly; it renamed itself after buying the Superhuman email client and now sells a suite of mail, calendar, docs, and an AI assistant called Go. Terms were not disclosed.

Fathom’s own announcement is short and reassuring: “Nothing changes today for Fathom users… Same app, same login.” That is true, and it is also what every acquired product says on day one. A month later, it is worth separating what is known from what is not.

What we know

The deal makes sense on paper. TechCrunch reported that Fathom has more than 400,000 monthly active users and that over a million people have recorded meetings with it. Superhuman has around 40 million users. Superhuman had built and tested its own notetaker before deciding to buy one instead. Fathom will be integrated into Superhuman’s mail, calendar, docs, and Go assistant, and a Fathom connector already exists in Go.

It fits a pattern. Meeting notes are becoming a feature of larger suites rather than a standalone purchase. In the same few weeks, Calendly launched its own notetaker (19 August), Wispr raised $280 million partly to build out its Mac and Windows notetaker, and Circleback added a free plan to compete. Microsoft, Google, and Zoom already bundle notes into their platforms. A standalone notetaker now has to be clearly better than the one that comes free with your other software.

The product is unchanged so far. Pricing is the same as before the deal: a free plan with unlimited recording, transcription and storage, and paid plans from $16 per month billed annually. It still records with a bot by default, with a bot-free desktop option that is a Mac-only beta. Data is stored in the United States. Fathom holds SOC 2 Type II and signs HIPAA Business Associate Agreements.

What nobody has said

Three things matter most to existing users, and neither company has addressed any of them publicly.

1. The free plan. Fathom’s free tier is the main reason it ranks first in our free and budget guide. Superhuman’s own products are subscription businesses. A generous free notetaker is a strong way to bring people into a paid suite, so keeping it is plausible. It is still not a commitment anyone has made.

2. Data and training. This one deserves a closer look, because Fathom’s policy is easy to misread. Fathom’s help centre says it “uses de-identified customer data to improve the accuracy of our proprietary AI models.” Individual users can opt out in My Settings, and Team Edition admins can opt out everyone at once. Fathom does bar its third-party AI providers from training on your data, but its own models do learn from de-identified meetings unless you switch that off.

That is the same default as Granola: training on by default, with an opt-out most users never find. Otter.ai also trains on de-identified data by default, and does not document a self-serve opt-out at all. We had previously credited Fathom with a no-training commitment, and we have corrected our review and lowered its training-transparency score from 4 to 2. Whether the policy changes once Fathom data sits next to Superhuman’s mail and docs data is the question existing users should ask first.

3. Where your meetings end up. Integration into Superhuman’s suite means meeting content may be connected to email, documents, and an AI assistant that reads across them. That can be genuinely useful. It also widens who and what can touch a sales call or a one-to-one. Watch for changes to Fathom’s privacy policy and sub-processor list, and read them when they arrive.

What to do if you use Fathom

You do not need to switch today. Do three things this month:

  • Turn the training opt-out on, for yourself in My Settings or for the whole workspace if you are a Team Edition admin.
  • Export anything you cannot afford to lose. This is ordinary practice around any acquisition, not a prediction.
  • Set a reminder to reread the terms when Superhuman announces its integration plans, which will probably be when pricing or policy changes appear.

If you are choosing a notetaker now, Fathom is still a capable free option, and our Fathom alternatives page ranks the tools that score close to it. If training defaults are the deciding factor, our new fact sheet lists which tools train on customer data by default and which state they do not. Circleback, Jamie, Bluedot, MeetGeek, tl;dv, and Hedy all state that they do not train on your meetings. Hedy also needs no bot: speech recognition runs on your device, and on supported hardware the AI can too, so the whole pipeline can stay on your machine. See our privacy guide.

For how Fathom compares today, see Fathom review, Fathom vs Fireflies vs Otter, the Fathom vs Otter.ai scorecard and Do AI note takers train on your data?.

We will update this post when Superhuman says what it plans for Fathom’s pricing and data policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Did Superhuman acquire Fathom? +
Yes. On 14 September 2026 Superhuman, the company formerly known as Grammarly, announced it had acquired Fathom. Terms were not disclosed. Fathom says nothing changes today for its users: same app, same login.
Is Fathom still free after the Superhuman acquisition? +
As of 27 October 2026, yes. The free plan still includes unlimited recording, transcription and storage, and paid plans start at $16 per month billed annually. Neither company has said what will happen to the free plan in future.
Does Fathom train AI on my meetings, and how do I opt out? +
Yes, by default Fathom uses de-identified customer data to improve its own AI models. Individuals can opt out in My Settings, and Team Edition admins can opt out the whole workspace. Its third-party AI providers are barred from training on your data.
Should I switch from Fathom after the acquisition? +
You do not need to switch today. Turn on the training opt-out, export anything you cannot afford to lose, and reread the terms when Superhuman announces its integration plans. Switch if your priorities are no default training, no bot or on-device processing.
What are the best Fathom alternatives? +
Fireflies.ai and Otter.ai are the closest cloud alternatives, though Otter also trains by default. Circleback, Jamie, Bluedot, MeetGeek, tl;dv and Hedy state that they do not train on your meetings. Hedy is the option that needs no bot and processes speech on your device.
Is Fathom still HIPAA compliant? +
Yes. Fathom holds SOC 2 Type II and signs HIPAA Business Associate Agreements, and stores data in the United States. Nothing about this has changed since the acquisition, but watch for updates to its privacy policy and sub-processor list.